Teach India: Week 9

After a hiatus of almost over a month I finally had my teach India session today with the kids…

The NGO tried to get better organized and gave a set of questions and structure to the entire session…..well since I am not a structured person…I could not particularly follow the structure and I had my own little agenda with the kids…and my agenda was to “Have Fun! And learn some English in the process.

I think my kids like me…. And that is cause I try to ensure they have fun and I attempt to make them feel special about sitting with me for a session..!

My trick is that I always take my kids for a walk after about 15- 20 minutes of the session….and  because this small thing…all other kids sitting in the hall envy my kids….they wonder what do these people go out and do and they apparently have internal conversations about it!

My first session was ok types….for some reason I did not take the girls for a walk…

Second session was good….took the girls for a walk… and taught them English while walking around and looking at things… I then made them sit in the car…taught them English words and sentences around the car…and spend the rest of the session repeating what we learnt! This was overall the best session….and I think it was quite productive!

Third Session was again ok types…there were less children and I got some new kids….with new kids…it takes some time to break the ice…and inherently if they are shy types…but overall  I managed to break the ice…lets see if the same set of kids comeback next week..

PS: I am gonna miss the session next weekL

3 Comments

Filed under Teach India

3 responses to “Teach India: Week 9

  1. Anand.U

    Bravo…on Week 9…I think you are doing your best as a teacher during the session…i.e gaining kids attention and interest…delivering the content (english) with fun…

    Week 10 will be nice milestone to analyse and see how the kids respond to all the learning especially to think in a language which is not their mother tongue…

    The way I see it…Kids gain interest towards learning…
    –Chocolates
    –Icecreams
    –Games
    –Fun
    –Interaction
    –Open Air
    –Motivation to Perform
    –Synergy…

    Well with the all holidays coming up …kids response to teach india will be quite interesting…hav fun!!!

  2. Rohan

    Hi Shilpa,

    It was my first day today with Teach India and it was a great experience!

    Kids from backgrounds that we dont get to see everyday were more than happy to get a new teacher or bhaiya as they call us volunteers here at Akanksha(the NGO). I bet kids that i taught today were more sharp,curious and fluent in English as compared to many those of their age who take formal schooling. Looking forward for more posts from you…

  3. Rohan

    Hi Shilpa,

    It was my first day today with Teach India and it was a great experience!

    Kids from backgrounds that we dont want to know and experience were more than happy to get a new teacher or bhaiya as they call us volunteers here at Akanksha(the NGO). I bet kids that i taught today were more sharp,curious and fluent in English as compared to many those of their age who take formal schooling. Looking forward to more posts from you on your Teach India experience…

Leave a Reply

