A Thousand Splendid Suns- Khaled Hosseini

😀 Finished yet another one……!! Not bad Eh! Another wonderful book…..For anybody who is actually following my blog is sure to think…what is with this girl….every review says that the book is lovely/wonderful/ great….well I guess I have just gotten lucky and picked up some good books…. Also  if the book is not so great..chances are bright that I would never finish it….and never write about it!

Enough of me…now about the book….:-) (Well If you are reading the blog..get used to reading about me….cause since I am my favorite person..I will have a tendency to write about me!)

A Thousand Splendid Suns is about two women Mariam Jo (I wonder what Jo means) and Laila Jo their lives in Afghanistan.

The book spans a period of fifty years and it gives a vivid picture of the different era’s of Afghanistan…..The Russian Rule…The Mujahedin …The Taliban and then the Americans…..they all ruled Afghanistan and the country was perpetually in war…first to get independence from the Russian communist rule…then infighting between Mujahedin lords…then the dreadful Taliban rule and the atrocities on women…and finally the American war on Afghanistan…

Read the book and you will experience the war and the devastation through the eyes of Mariam and Laila…..you can actually feel their pain…their helplessness….their despair…..

The book is divided into four parts…..

It starts with Mariam….and the first part is all about Marriam and her life…….Marraim is born a ‘harami’  (the book uses this word multiple times to don’t get scandalized basically she is born out of wedlock). She lives with her mother in a small town in Heart in Afghanistan…..her mother commits suicide when she is fifteen…her father and step mothers force her to married to a 40 year old man Rasheed and pack her off the to Kabul….

Part Two is about Laila….and her family…….Lila is born as a third child to a modern educated family in Kabul in Mariam’s neighborhood…she lives there for 15 years but never cross paths until one fateful day….

Part Three…..is about Mariam and Laila together….and it is heart wrenching……it is about war…the Taliban….despair…..helplessness….

And last part is about Laila without Marriam in present day Afghanistan….

Although it is a work of fiction….it is inspired from the truth….Marriam and Lila would be a fiction of Khalid’s imagination….but I am sure people like this exist and have similar gruesome stories to share …

What hit me most about the narration was that it is about Afghanistan in the eighties….nintes…it is a period I have lived through in a country not so far from Afghanistan and I have lived such a different life from the two protagonists in the book….I have been so lucky….Laila would be approximately the same age as me …..but our lives have been so very different….I feel so fortunate and lucky….What is it…Krama….?

I cant even imagine life in Taliban era…..I cant imagine not being allowed to step out of the house  without being accompanied by a man…..being trashed if you are seen alone…..we take our freedom and independence for granted….

Laila lived a liberal life….she went to school….had a liberal family…..even had a boyfriend….and then suddenly….everything changed….one fine day…..rather one dark day….everything was over……scary…..is’nt it…..and you know what….it can happen to you….

War can be crazy…

Imagine….you sitting safely in your house and suddenly…. ‘BOOM’… comes a rocket from the sky and your neighbors house disappears….you live in constant fear that you would be next…and ‘BOOM’…one day your greatest fears come true….and everything you know is over….but you survive to tell the tale…

You know what….this is happening….at this very moment….The war at Gaza…..people are suffering….loosing everything they have…..but we don’t really care…..we are so wrapped up in our own petty issues and our imagined problems….

A book like Thousand Splendid Suns …just gives a different perspective to life…..it is  definitely worth a read….I personally liked it better than ‘Kite Runner’ ….maybe cause it shows Afghanistan from a woman’s eyes….

3 Comments

Filed under Book Review, Thoughts and Feelings

3 responses to “A Thousand Splendid Suns- Khaled Hosseini

  1. Kunal

    I probably not comment!

    Kunal

  2. aplihs

    @ Kunal…..Why so?

  3. I have finished the book just tonight. It took me four nights to read it. I must say, I felt so attached to character of Maryam Jo, unlike any experience ever before. Last night, I could not read a word further, when Mariam Jo was executed. But I finally decided tonight, Alhamdulillah, to read further and I am glad that I did. One of the most mesmerizing moments was the experience of Laila Jo while in the Kolba.

    I personally feel our cultures are changing very rapidly and in essence from real to imaginary, from the essence of human (and humane) feelings and joys to objectified fanciful desires. The feminine character was definitely insightfully and delightfully overwhelming for a learner in this book. A read unlike ever before.

    🙂
    Thanks for the review. Yes Gaza is bad and it makes one cry actually. The dread and beauty of this novel is that it takes things to extremes, but then those extremes are a veritable part of our lives and our world, which we can’t ignore, but we often do…

Leave a Reply

