The Loong Weekend Trip….

26th January 2009….A Monday….and a Holiday thanks to the Indian Republic Day……so it gave us a Looong weekend…(Ya I am one of the fortunate people who get a Saturday off…!) J Republic Day since is came after a Sat/Sun…it was anything but patriotic….

I had multiple  plans cooking  for the upcoming long weekend….but nothing seemed to be working out…..and most plans were being scrapped for lack of enthu people to join  me in these potential endeavors (it is times like this that I sometimes miss having a boyfriend who I could convince/cajole/threaten and get him to tag along with me….!)

Anyways….So there was 25th Jan Friday night 8.30…..No Loong weekend plan…..:-( (How depressing…!) and I was driving back home….Some friends were going for a trip to Satara…and although I was invited…it did not seem very exciting…. ‘Satara’…for god’s sake who goes to Satara for a holiday!!??! Also more importantly I did not want to be a “Kabab Mein Haddi” and tag along….

But ….WTH…..ultimately I did go along…and I am so glad I did! ( I don’t know if the others are glad….I was maybe way too enthu/hyper for them…! I did try and curb my natural instincts…so I am sure it was not too bad!)

It was a fun trip…..did a lil bit of walking….a lot of talking…..took a whole lot of snaps….

We went to the peaceful Kaas lake….waked though sugarcane…Jowar…Haldi…Tomato fields…plucked fruits directly from the field to eat…..had some super yum strawberry cream with ice cream at Panhcagini…met the farmers made friends with them and discussed life ….eat some wonderful Maharastrain food….( I always though Maharatrain food is only Vada Paw…Missel Paw etc…but no there is lots and it is yummy…the Pittal..The Bajare ka Roti…the Singhdane ki Sabji…mummm!!) …We climbed trees…and ate banana’s sitting up like monkeys….went for a bullock cart ride…..

But the best part were the nights….they were beautiful…the first night we were at Kaas Lake…  which is an unexplored virgin lake far away from civilization on a plateau…surrounded by mountains….….it was wonderful to see the sun setting and the changing colors of the sky…..not a soul around…..and we are  sitting by the lake beneath the  canopy  of stars and seeing their reflection in water.. peaceful… serene….almost heaven…

 “ Twinkle Twinkle Little Star….Like a Diamond in the Sky…..”

The second night we were at the Panchgini Table Land…..and believe it or not……we saw three shooting stars…..(or maybe they were satellites orbiting around some far off planet…) but it is soo beautiful to sit out in the open under the night sky with the stars above your head…. ( what I really really want to do next is a night trek and spend the night in a sleeping bag under the sky….)

It was so beautiful……hope to have many more trips like that….till then…you can check out some of the snaps on orkut….

Our Ride!

You can also read another decription of the same trip at.. http://ujjwal-banerjee.blogspot.com/2009/01/back-from-outing.html

Leave a comment

Filed under Trips!

Leave a Reply

