If You Want Something……Just Ask!

Ladies and Gentlemen….Boys and girls…..the fact of life is that we always want something….In the next few minutes…I am going to share with you the secret of how you can increase your chances of getting what you want by about 80%..….

My friends always told me….boss you are lucky…..you manage to get your way almost every-time…..honestly ….till very recently even I did not know what my ‘secret’ was till I chanced about this book called the Last Lecture by Randy Pauch …and now I am going to share the golden rule…..

Ladies and Gentle men……

If you want something…..Just Ask!

Too simplistic right….but it works…

Toastmasters picnic….pick up point was office….i wanted something closer to home….called the president and   “Just Asked”

I needed to pick my drivers license from the RTO…the counter opens only by 3:30…I reached the place at 2…and  managed  to pick my license…..cause I walked up the  policeman and  “ Just Asked!”

Wanted a customer to sign the contract before Feb end so I can claim the deal in my appraisal…met them ..and “Just Asked”

Wanted a one week off to go for a Yoga camp…..walked into the boss’s office….and  “Just Asked”

So Next time if you want something…. “Just Ask”

What…Some of tyou do not believe me for what I have just said.?Just because you pictured the moments when you were denied what you wanted.Folks ,didn’t I say it works 80% of the times.Why fret over the other 20%

YES! chances are that we may not get what we want even if we muster the courage to ask…..but my personal experience says…..8 out of 10 times you actually get it….

Having a hit ratio of getting what I ask for 8 out of 10 times is really cool na…..and even the two time you don’t get what you want….you at least have the satisfaction that you tried!!!

But now life is not so simple….and  there are road blocks to get to a the Nirvana stage of getting everything you want!…

Chances are…..

1)      You don’t know what you want……Like I have no idea about the kind of guy I want to get married to!! ..even if you are a sorted person who know exactly what you want …Chances are

2)      You don’t know who to ask……like if I want to go meet Sharuk Khan…but I have no idea who I can ask…..

3)      You are afraid of rejection!!…Like I think I want a rating of 5…I know I can ask my boss for it….but chances are he will reject my proposition….

 

I am sure although everyone already knew this somewhere  at the bottom of your heart ….

 “Logically” the odds of our getting what we want increase if we “Just Ask”…..but then WHY don’t we!!??? Well  Our fragile  “EGO” …and when “EGO” walks in from the door…”LOGIC” normally flys out of the window….

Now …when it comes to matters of the heart….this situation gets even more tricky …. “To ask or not to ask!!! There is never an easy answer to this….now that can be a topic of yet another speech…

I was discussing my new found secret of  “Just Ask” with my all boys team work…. they gave a “Gender Angle”…. you girls have it easy…..when you girls ask for something….the boys can hardly ever say no!

Well Well….its not the gender of who is asking… way’ of asking… Now girls are in general sweeter and can smile and ask…..this would give them an edge…but dear boys… can smile and be sweet  and nice too….that is not impossible! (Or is it boys!?)

Trick Number One:  for the boys…. and you cannot smile and be sweet….at least try and ask a girl around you to ask!!

Trick Number Two:  “Ask if you can ask before you actually Ask”…tongue twister eh…..but it is a potent tool….!  Ask “Can I ask you for something? “ The person will definitely say yes to that….out of curiosity if nothing else…. 

Dale Carnigee says….. “ if you Get the other person saying “yes, yes” immediately” chances are you will win people to your way of thinking….and I vouch for it!

So Ladies and Gentelmen….Boys and Girls…. Life is about getting what you want…..and to get what you want…..All you need to do is : JUST ASK!

Project 5 -Toastmasters SpeachPlease do not use it without permission!

2 Comments

Filed under Toastmasters

2 responses to “If You Want Something……Just Ask!

  1. Anand.U

    Nice speech…Again I cud be wrong …Little Imagination always helps…

    I think you should start the speech with a word puzzle “My Life” by holding yourself on to “Me” and handing out letters “y, ,L,i,f” to the auidence.

    Then you can dive into your speech …then in the end you could orchestrate how you ended up making “My Life ” by starting with “Me”…

    It makes perfect sense… as in this world some people may be holding on to one of your life letters…best way to get them …Jst Ask…hav fun!!!

  2. abc

    yeah good one. nice to see tht u ve add my suggestion in final speech. whtever fact is tht Its Work! 😉

Leave a Reply

