Obituary to my Beloved- Late Mr Nokia 3250

Finally buried my old but very loyal Nokia 3250 😦

My 3250 was a good phone….one would need to twist his bottom to click pictures (now you know which model I am referring to). He was good for everything except talking and messaging (now who needs phones for menial tasks like that!)….great music….the loudspeaker was fantabulous…I did not have a deck in my car but Mr 3250 made an excellent replacement for a car deck….the camera was great….some of the pictures that my 3250 clicked  in the daylight were envied by the low end camera’s available in the market….3250 journeyed the world with me…..well ok….slight exaggeration….he just travelled to Singapore …. Hyderabad… Bangalore… Lonavala… Goa…Matheran…. Lonavala…. Mahabheleshwar….Lonavala…Karjat…Lonavala…etc etc ….( ya since I have shifted to this side of town…..Lonavala has become like a regular destination….people actually call me on weekends and as me if I am in Mumbai or Lonavala!)

Age was catching up with 3250 he was getting tired with all the travel…. He was in shambles for ages now….the key pad numbers were wiped out…the cover was fractured  and was plastered together with cello-tape (despite changing the body twice!) The battery life was gone and would last only about an hour (despite getting a duplicate battery replaced) ….but I loved my phone….and did not want to give it up…..

Till one fine day…..about two months back on my way back from Goa…3250 though it had had enough of being dropped and ill-treated…and I guess the Goa sun and sand was too much for it to handle….it just died  right there in my hand….and would not come back on to life….emgercy treatment at the Nokia repair shop eventually brought him back to life after a week….. but the incident shook me up…..how can I live without a phone  after all  ‘its not just a phone…its who we are!’  (guess this tag line from which phone!) and hence my quest for a new phone started!

After much research and discussion…I narrowed down on a Nokia Supernova 7610….features seemed nice…the phone looked good…the mirror finish was interesting…..great reviews from people using it…the Priyanka Chopra advt was nice….very relatable (ya…advts do matter….so  here is feedback anyone from the marketing world). …the perfect phone for me!

So I had my heart and mind set on the Graphite Grey Nokia 7610….! I had made up my mind….and I had told all my tech savvy well wishers (obviously all boys/men!) to stay way and not to try an influence my decision…cause I had finally actully made up my mind……

I spent 3 weeks looking for the Graphite Grey Nokia 7610…got the White every where I went ( and believe me I went to many places..mobile store…Cell One..Nokia Priority..Big Baazar etc etc)…..but the grey piece was just not available L

Finally one little shop in Alfa….had merewala “Graphite Grey” ( which he had to source from some other shop) and I was about to make the bill…..when the guy at the counter said….madame…why don’t you try Sony Erickson C510….. it is the exact same price…features are much better….and I don’t know what came over me….and I said…yes why not….if you are so sure this is a better phone…I will go for it….and I buried my Nokia 3250…and came home with the new Sony Erickson C510!!

All research…all discussions…everything down the drain……bough the phone on the word and recommendation of the guy across the counter…..Sales guys in Nokia….listen up….you’ll are loosing sales of die hard Nokia fans like me…..despite jazzy Priyanka Chopra advts…because of the guy behind the counter!!

Welcome  Ms Sony C510……to my world…..I stay loyal to my phone….and eventually fall in love with them….but drop them…throw them around…..so dear  Ms C510….I hope you are not very delicate and girly girly like you look and can withstand the pressures of being my phone like my beloved the late Mr Nokia 3250 did… you are going to have an interesting few years  ahead with me!

 All the best Ms Sony Erickson C510….and Welcome aboard!!

Ps: For all you people who actually want to do a compare of the two phones….(I did it when I got home) here is the link!

http://www.esato.com/phones/index.php/phone=400,cp=419

5 Comments

Filed under Experience /Incident /Activity

5 responses to “Obituary to my Beloved- Late Mr Nokia 3250

  1. Kunal Janu

    Sony has good music while Nokia can handle pressure.. I always choose Nokia over any other company just for reliability..

  2. Anand.U

    Shilpa San… This is very good…You sud try this as ToastMaster Speech… hav fun !!!

  3. aplihs

    @Anand….tnx….I am supose to give a TM speach this friday…and I have no idea of the topic…I may consider using a modification of this one…!

    @Kunal…..well I hope my sony can handle the pressure….and I dont get back to the site writing an orbutary for the C510!

  4. S
    Congrats on the new phone. Well, it reminded me of the time I was in the shop to buy the phone. After looking at everything, it all came down to 2 things:
    – it should have big keys for me to manage my fat fingers
    – it should be black
    I bought 3500c from Nokia Stable. Seems that I am brand loyal afterall.
    And its value for money. (Rs. 5450 from Croma)

  5. K

    I went thru something similar…spent weeks researching, finalized on a Sony Ericson phone for quite some time…and on the d-day went and bought a Nokia on the reco of a colleague!

    Life is what happens when you have other plans!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

