Twitter!!

Well…I think Twitter Rocks!! I have been hearing about Twitter for quite some time….also had a user name on Twitter but never really logged on to it….but last three days…I have been exploring twitter and I think it is really cool!

I am still in initial stages of understanding twitter…but it  sure looks interesting….

If I have understood it right…currently you cannot use it from your cell phone in India..and if you try to do it..you will be charged international sms rates..which is super expensive… once it is available on local sms…it will become super popular here…..( incase it can be use from phone…do tell me!)

I think twittering is almost like writing a 160 character long blog! There r times when you don’t really have much to write on a blog…but you just wanna tell the world what you are up to… tell someone what you are doing…..feeling…thinking…..all you have to do is post a twitter!!

But what is the world coming to….very often I feel  it is easier to blog/chat/twitter about how you feel than it is to talk……now is it only me….or others also feel this way….?

Do you have chat friends/blog  friends who you open out more to than to your real life friends….?? Do you have ‘live friends ’ who you share more about yourself and open out more to when u are on IM with them the face to face…?????

You know what…..as I am writing these questions…I realize my answer to these questions is YES….is this dysfunctional???

Are we getting more comfortable talking/sharing things in front of a computer screen and not with people???

 Where are all these Web 2.0 tools leading us to…..are they bringing us closer to people …or taking us far away…?

What would the next generation be like….??

I don’t know if it is for the better or for the worse….but technology is changing our lives….

I think I should stop chatting/writing/twittering…. What say??????

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Twitter!!

  1. Anand.U

    Shilpa San…

    Twitter is kewl … and it is not textbook…it is so much fun… and I dont think India is ready for it…

    I will tell you why…I hav nearly 40 odd american friends and 150 Indian friends on Twitter…I get a average of 40 -50 updates from american friends in a DAY…while if i could one in a month from any of my Indian friends… that wud be something…

    I think Indians are great but most often end up being sensitive, judgemental and logical…as a person they are always fighting their own thoughts… def cant handle few bumps on the roads…

    Twitter msgs….I thought was kewl…
    nahiiiiiiiiiiii….
    naaaahhhh…
    Chor Chor…
    I cant wait to get into water…
    hi-ho hi-ho off to fun
    In home with family…
    is up bright n early on the way to work!!
    going to bed happy after a great weekend!!!! 5am will come wayyyy too soon!
    Time to go wrestle with “The Boy” and his “medium big sister…
    ….the list goes on…

    Most Indians doesnt get far away from home…they are always worried about getting lost…
    so doubleback home …others just run like crazy in all the given direction after locked up for how long…

    Americans lose themselves to find something better than planned…they dont suffer fools …

    Everybody and everything evovles …It is just that baby steps that matters…

    anyway keep doing whatever makes you happy ..hav fun!!!

  2. aplihs

    @Anand…
    Well…I dont appriciate your generalizations about Indian’s…..

    As i have tried to convey in the post…..Twitter is not ready for India….and not the other way round…currently you cannot pos twitter msg by sending a local sms like you can in the US…so no wonder people in India dont post twitters as often…
    Not not posting tweets does not qualify your judgement that: “Most Indians doesnt get far away from home…they are always worried about getting lost…”

    Right!?? What do others have to say??

  3. Anand.U

    Shilpa San…

    Sorry to bust your bubble…I cud be wrong…better i find myself wrong…that makes a billion right…

    Well…I see you just opened for debate…let see what others hav to say …

    hav fun !!!

  4. Hey you can twit from ur mobile using GPRS and naturally it costs minimal. I’ve tried it from my Vodafone GPRS…

  5. I don’t know why that is…but it is true, I am far more open with my friends on Twitter, Facebook, my blog etc.

    Welcome to web 2.0 🙂

Leave a Reply

