Some books I have read…

Now my book reviews have been the most booring blogs according to my readers…..but you know what….they do get me quite a few new hits on my blog….ya they don’t get me too many comments but I am hoping that will change!

But despite all the feedback I have got on my book blogs….i still want to write about the books I have read….the reason for that is that it is nice to write a summary of the book you have read….it helps you to remember it ….and I think for people who like to read…it also acts like a recommendation… ! Actually come to think of it….almost all the people who have told me they don’t like my book review post  are people who I know don’t like to read!!

So people…this post is for all you guys and girls out there who like to read….this is what I have been reading the last few days

Q&A / Slum Dog Millionaire By Vikas Swaroop

Well…interesting book…infact I think I liked it better than the movie….but I guess that is always the care…I personally like the book better in case of almost all books that have been adapted into movies…like the harry Potter series!

One thing that the author good have done differently…and which has been done very well in the movie is that the question could be asked first and then the entire story about how the protagonist happened to know the answer should have followed! The book is divided into one chapter per question and the entire chapter talks about some incidents in this life and then the question is popped up at the end of the chapter….

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Six Suspects- Vikas Swaroop

I personally did not like the book too much….I guess that is because it was hyped too much for me…my bro read it before me….another friend had read and told me it was really nice…..but I found it pretty over the top and unrealistic….it was very very filmy….not a book I would highly recommend to anyone…..but I guess maybe it is not too bad….and I just started reading it with very high expectations!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

If God was a Banker – Ravi Subramanium

Really enjoy the book…started reading at at 12 pm on a weekday night…..and stayed up all night finished the book by 4 in the morn and then went to sleep!!

The book is two people….Swami and Sundeep and their corporate life in a MNC bank in India….Swamy is a  very good boy….and his character reminded me of someone in my current team at work….so maybe that is why I enjoyed the book even more….

Sundeep is a kaamena in the book…thank god I don’t know someone like him in real life!!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

So happy reading and commenting!! Tell me if you have read any of these books…tell me what you think of them….would love to hear from you! I peronally love Indian authors….what about u?

5 Comments

Filed under Book Review

5 responses to “Some books I have read…

  1. adb

    u r right bout the book usually being better than the movie.
    Coz while reading a book it’s your imagination at work…. in a movie it’s someone else’s.

    So far I have watched very few movies which were comparable or better than the book…. God Father, The Shawshank Redemption and To Kill a Mocking Bird.

    Six suspects too filmy huh? Someone else thought so too…

    http://www.india.com/entertainment/movies/vikas_swarups_new_book_6_suspects_turns_a_movie_4653

  2. haha…same for me as well. All my friends complain about my book reviews. But, I really love books and I really love to review them too…

    I haven’t read any of the books you have mentioned in your post, but looking forward to reading them.

    Thanks for your reviews. They are really nice 🙂

  3. ravi

    well, i feel its a wrong perception of yours when you say people don’t read that’s why they don’t like your book reviews. The taste of reading of populace is always diverse.

    anyways, i feel the book “If God was a Banker” might turn out be an interesting one.i had been seeing the book here with almost street book sellers though didn’t took interest in it. Would surely love to read it…thanks for a good review finally 🙂 .hehe and i hope you wom’t complain now that people don;t leave comments though they read ur blog..

  4. I volunteer for the post of Sundeep . . . you see punjabi blood.

  5. Hey thanks for a nice review. Am Glad that you liked the book. do look out for my next book.. Devil In Pinstripes which will be in the stores by October..cheers

Leave a Reply

