Make a Difference…

One day a man was walking along the beach when he noticed a figure in the distance. As he got closer he realized the figure was that of a boy picking something up and gently throwing it into the ocean.

Approaching the boy, he asked, “What are you doing?”

The youth replied, “Throwing starfish back in the ocean. The sun is up and the tide is going out. If I don’t throw them in, they will die.”

“Son,” the man said, “Don’t you realize there are miles and miles of beach and hundreds of starfish? You can’t possibly make a difference!”

After listening politely, the boy bent down, picked up another starfish, and threw it into the surf.

Then smiling at the man, he said,”I made a difference for that one!”      

This was a forward I got on e-mail and I really liked it…but instead of fwd it to everyone I thought I will put it on my blog so I wont loose it in a mail trail. Till Google Wave becomes a norm….i will have to use blogs like this to share interesting things and yet not loose them in the mail mass!

 Plan to use this story to inspire the college volunteers of my school teaching  program with Dharma Bharti Mission… Ya I know I have not yet written about this  new initiative of mine….I plan to do it soon!

Till then….keep reading and get inspired to make a difference…however small it may be!  And  Plz do write comments on my posts to inspire me! Will really appreciate it!

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts and Feelings

2 responses to “Make a Difference…

  1. Deepak

    Hi Shilpa,
    Deepak – from TCS TMC. Good blog. Read your article. Keep going!

  2. prakash jotwani

    many times we wait for appropriate time and conditions to start a good thing, but the fact is, we should start with wherever we r and whatever we have, and in whatever we can.
    there is no wrong time to do a right thing!!
    and if ur this beautiful blog inspires even few of the readers to do something good, i think u have achieved the desired results!! 🙂
    keep going!!

Leave a Reply

