London Calling!

Saturday 26th June, Sunday 27th June, Monday 28th June, Tuesday 29th June

Looks like four days in London right….but it was not…..I reached in the evening on Saturday….and left in the morning on Tuesday….so I virtually had only 2 little days…the Sunday and Monday to explore London City…and I loved it…..i am sure to come back to London…someday….soon…!

The thing that hit me most when I landed in London is the number of Indians that you see….they may not be all Indian…but Asians…but it is really nice to see…you hear soo much Punjabi ..hindi….gujrati…Bengali around…it is really really nice….I would say I heard the Indian English accent more in London than the British English!!

So Lodon was nice after switerland…it almost felt like I am back in India..just a cleaner version…with smiliar sounds( languages!)…sights (people!)…..smells ( sooo many Indian restaurants with yummy Indian food!)

Saturday was a day to chill….was super exhausted with the GSE(atleast so I though…%in retrospect the GSE seemed like relaxing as compared to the last week I have had)!I reached the home of my host family only by 5…5.30 in the evening…..was a nice evening with the family…..chit chatting….and going for a walk around the suburb West Draytion that they lived in…and eating some absolutly yummy spicy food….Palak Paneer….Bhindi ki Sabji….two types of dal….oh I had a feast…the taste buds on my tongue which had gone to sleep were rejuvenated with all the spices….and I ATE and ate and ATE…..licking my fingerers….with no pretence of attempting to use the fork and knife! Was absolute bliss…..I am hungry again recollecting the meal!

Day 2: Sunday 27th June

Well actually it was my day one in London…..we got the off peak day pass and now I was free to travel wherever I wanted….

We walked around London city….the Bukkimhim palce….Trafalgar Square….Big Ben…Banks of River Thames…the parliament house…basically saw the sights of London and got a feel of it….we then went to the south bank….beautiful…my favorite place in London…it was such a vibrant lane next to the river Thames….artists performing different interesting things by the banks evey 100 meters…you could just walk there and sit and watch what is happening….I met another friend of mine there,…my room mate from college who has been in London for over 5 years….so she is like a local around….was really nice…..she took us to this place called founders arm to have  a drink by the river Thames…and we tried a typical London summer drink called the PIMMS…was nice…suppose to be mildly alcoholic….but I could bearly taste the alcohol..it was really nice with pieces of fresh fruit…

We then went for an Indian dinner  at a place called Hounslow….:-) Masala Dosa….yummm…..I was eating a masala dosa after more than a month….was nice….the gravy of the chicken tikka masala with the masala dosa was fantabulous…

Day 3: Monday 28th June

This was my day on my own…..:-) Eveyone was working….and I got my day pass and was off the explore the city on my own and had a wonderful day…infact my day was so good that I am inspired to travel on my own sometime again..being on you own was really not as bad as I had imagined..it was pretty damn good!

So I started by day with taking the metro to vist the much talks about Harrolds….and I lukily got lost on the way..i got down at the wrong station…I slept on the metro…and in my sleep….got down one statin before I was actually suppose to….and then I took the bus…taking the bus is sooo much better than taking the metro….especially the double decker…you go up and sit in the front seat and get a nice view of the city..!

Harrolds was nice…on sale….but yet to expensive for me to shop with my Indian salary….after harrolds I was to go to oxford street…but I got tired of the shopping ….rather looking at the shops….so I went to my favorite spot…the South Bank and sat by the banks…listened to music….saw the shows around ..the dance the mime…etc and ate my take away noodle that I picked up from Harrolds…J!

Then I decided to go up the London eye….i should do something touristy right….but it was so so….nothing very great….although I had bought the audio commentary paying an additional 5 pounds…you can bearly make out what is what …and the ride gets over too fast….going up the Eiffle tower was better cause you can stay there as long as you like…

After the London eye..it was time to meet my friend near her place of work…..I had a destination…and a time that I had to reach….so I did not have the luxury of the option of taking the bus and getting lost and exploring the city….

We went to Camden Market…..crazy funky place…so not like the rest of Lodon I had seen to far….was nice to walk around..it almost had a feel of Goa…without the beach…..

Our next stop was Primrose hill…..and we picked up some chips….some drinks and a very yumm chocolate and biscuit cake…( Yeah I know I seem obsessed with the food…no wonder I have put on 4 kgs on my trip…! Luckily I checked my weight  only on the last day when I was checking the weigh of my bags to come back….not that it would have stopped me from eating all the exotic food!)

At primrose garden….we sat on the grass…lay down and talked and talked….about nothing…about everything….life …love…boys…work …watched the sun go down and the lights come on London city…was an amazing evening…..and it was not over yet….I decided to spend the night with my friend….so I could see where she lives….so we took the metro and went to Canary Walf…..another very different area….big buildings….very impressive looking…i guess that was the business district of London…it looked very nice and grand by the night….all lit up….we went to the grocery store…..I love going to grocery stores in a new city…they give you a feel of the place…I cant seem to remember the name of the store!

We finally reached the place where my friend reached at 10 in the night…. I loved the…it was sooo beautiful….a wooden house by the river/stream..lake…I don’t know what it was…but it was still water…and you could see the water from her bed room….sooo perfect…J and we chatted till almost 3 in the night…again about nothing and everything….it was indeed a wonderful evening……J

But the next day I had to get up at 5.45 and take the train at 6….so I could say bye to the friend I was living with before she left for work…..pity in spite of leaving so early and taking a peak time pass which is like 15 pounds as against the 7 pounds… she had left before I reached…L ….but atleast I could say bye to her husband and a little baby!

Overall London was good….i loved the city!

Overall Impressions of London

Nice vibrant city…..yeah people don’t talk to each other in the metors etc…but so what I guess that is the case in any big city….

The good part of the city was…there were so many Indians….it felt soo nice….it is easy to get the food you want…you can get the spices….or even eat out

And the best part of the city was that everyone spoke English! Which was such a relief

If there is any place I want to stay in among the places I visited…it would be LONDON for sure…Is anyone listing…LONDON is calling….I want to go and work there for 6 8 months….what say….!?! Will be fun I think!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

