My Grandad…..Daddy

Saturday 10th July 2010

Daddy…my grandfather… is no more with us….he passed way early Thursday(8th July2010)  morning and I was the last person to see him breathing…he was suffering from the last few years  with aches and pains…and was very ill the last few months….bedridden…semi conscious… so I guess in a way he is happier giving up this old body of his…he is now a free sprit…..may his soul rest in peace…I guess he was waiting from me to come back from y 5 week long trip before he finally decided to give up…to let go and pass into the next world….

He was a very handsome old man in his younger days….i say handsome ‘old’  man cause I have always seen him old with white/grey hair…but he was tall  …broad shouldered and very good looking…..i did not think that when I was a 3 year old child…but when I look at my pictures with him as a child..i realizes wow…he was a fit good looking man…well…i guess he would be in his late 50’s when I was born…that does not seem too old now when you are almost on the brink of reaching the 30’s!!

He took care of us like a father….In-fact as kids  I would say he did more for me and my younger brother than my dad has done… Since both my parents were working he was ..the one who took care of us…he would take us to school…bring us back….give us food …play with us….everything…I was almost scared of him as a child…he was soo tall and big and strict!

He really loved all of us and always wanted to best for us….we moved to Calcutta…he was ready to leave his entire life her in Mumbai and move with us to Calcutta….even though my grandma was not too keen on doing it….when we moved to Juhu….he happily again left his life in Chembur and moved with us to Juhu…not too many old people are so open to change….but he loved us…he wanted to be with us…

As time went on…he grew older…and his health gradually deteriorated….In our old house at Juhu…he would go down and walk and sit with other old people in the evenings on his own….10 years down when we moved to our new house in Juhu…he would not be able to go down on his own…and we would have to take him down in a lift and make him sit and watch the sea….as we moved to Chembur 3-4 r later…he stopped going out of the house altogether….It was a gradual decline….from walking independently…to walking with a stick…to a walker..to not walking at all…..it is soo much like babies…a baby cannot walk initially….then walks with a walker…then holding hands with support and then independently…old age is just an exact reversal…..slow….and steady…..

It’s a pity…but it is inevitable….He lead a nice long happy life…..so I am happy for him…..I am sure he is around watching over us…from up there…. I feel more protected with another guardian angel looking over us….

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My Grandad…..Daddy

  1. Andrea

    I am said with you for the loss of someone so close to you. Thank you for sharing this said but at the same time beautiful part of your family history of with us. I am sure he was very proud of you too.

Leave a Reply

