Tag Archives: Nichiren

The Ten Worlds

I was reading an interesting  Buddhist concept call Ten worlds..or Ten states of life..and I could quite relate to it and I think I have been through all these states many times….It made an interesting read …here it is for you to read and reflect which state for you currently in…!

1.       Hell

Hell is a state of indescribable suffering. It is a time where you have lost all hope and you are worried and are imagining the worst possible consequences of a certain event and in the process suffering as if the worst has already happened…and you feel you have no control over the situation.

It is indeed a bad state to be in….but if you have never experienced hell…you would never know the meaning of happiness and if you have never experienced Hell…you would not be able to empathize with your fellow human being who is going through hell….every time you experience this state of helplessness…remember….it can only get better from here…

2.       Hunger

Hunger is a state in which our Desires are dominant….our desired can take  many forms  from  desire for food, warmth, sleep to higher more complex desires like those for love, social justice and self improvement….

It is a state when we want more than what we currently have…It is a state of permanent dissatisfaction people in this state are driven by the thought that their happiness lies in possessing or experiencing something that is currently out of their reach…and many times no sooner that one gets what they desire the attraction fades off and one realizes that it is not enough…

Desires and a state of hunger is an integral part of our being…..we need it to grow and achieve anything in life..it is impossible to eradicate desire without eradicating life itself…

The real challenge lies in reorienting  our desires towards creative and valuable ends and realizing that although fulfilling our personal desires would give us temporary happiness…the ultimate happiness lies in working towards happiness of our fellow human beings

3.       Animality

Animality  is a condition driven by instinct and lacking in self control, reason, morality or wisdom It is action without considering the effects of their actions. People in this state live only for the present. In this condition one is rules by the law of the jungle, standing in fear of the strong but despising and preying upon those weaker than oneself.

Our animal instincts are necessary for our survival..but if we cannot control them as humans we are no different from the animals


4.       Anger

Anger is a condition dominated by selfish ego, competitiveness, arrogance and the need to be superior in all things. A person in the state on anger cannot bear to loose, he must have the best job, the highest salary, the prettiest wife in short anything that will separate him and place him above the rest of humanity. Arrogance, Conceit, contempt for others and a highly critical streak and a powerful competitive urge are all aspects of anger.

However like all other states…the state of anger can also be used positively….Anger gives us the passion to fight injustice and inequality.


5.       Humanity or Tranquility

Tranquility is fundamentally a neutral state..it is a state where nothing in your environment can upset or excite you…one can pass fair judgment…control instinctive desires with reason…act in harmony with the environment.

However a person in this state is essentially vulnerable and can easily be moved to any of the other states…and hence this state is difficult to sustain

6.       Heaven or Rapture

Rapture is the pleasure  we experience  when our desires are fulfilled….It is an intense exhilarating state in which we feel glad to be alive…in rapture we feel ourselves truly living to the fullest of our potential….we are full of energy and the zest for life!

However Rapture….as wonderful as it may be…It can never last for long….it requires simply a passage of time or a slight change of circumstances for us to move out of Rapture to any of the lower  states of life…

Together these first 6 worlds are grouped together as the Six Lower Worlds…these are all basically reactions to changing external conditions

7.       Learning

This is a condition in which one seeks some skill, lasting truth or self reformation through the teachings of others…

8.        Realization or Absorption

This is a condition in which one seeks realizes and imbibes lessons from our own observation of life….

Together these two worlds are referred to as the two vehicles to the higher states…when people are in these two states, they are partially enlightened however they are given more to the pursuit of self perfection than altruism…they can easily become self center and arrogant thinking they have nothing more to learn

9.       Bodhisattva

In this state…one not only aspires for the enlightenment of oneself, but also devotes oneself to relieve suffering of others….through compassion, altruistic actions…


10.   Buddha Hood

A buddha is simply an ordinary person awaked to the true nature of life.Buddhahood is the joy of joys….birth old age illness and death no longer suffering but a part of the joy of living…The joy  of Buddhahood may sound similar to Rapture…but it is essentially different because it is a joy which cannot be destroyed by suffering…rather it can absorb it…and it is a joy enriched by a deep understanding of how life works from moment to moment…


Mutual Possession of the Ten Worlds

Everybody possesses all the ten worlds…in different people different worlds are stronger and weaker and in most people one world seems to dominate but the bottom line is that budhahood is included in all the lower nine states….and Buddhahood….consists of all nine states put together..

Interesting Eh!                         



Filed under Thoughts and Feelings